Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit

After the cracking ‘The Double EP: A Sea of Split Peas’ release Courtney Barnett has gone from strength to strength increasing her audience on the way and she doesn’t disappoint with the release of her debut album ‘Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit’. Eleven songs all brought to you in her own unique style, a mix of Bob Dylan delivery and early Billy Bragg with the wordsmith skills of John Cooper Clarke. There is no finer example on the record than lead single ‘Pedestrian at Best’ its Nirvana style riff underpinning the sing-along chorus ‘put me on a pedestal and I’ll only disappoint you, tell me I’m exceptional and I promise to exploit you, give me all your money and I’ll make some origami honey, I think you’re a joke but I don’t find you very funny’. Musically it feels familiar, each composition an earworm with guitar licks as catchy as the choruses, but her secret weapon is her lyrics, observations and rhymes (sandwiches and averages just one example of many) that have an almost hip-hop sensibility. ‘Elevator Operator’, ‘Debbie Downer’ and ‘Dead Fox’ are all upbeat but Barnett proves she can also do slow with ‘Kim’s Caravan’ and ‘Boxing Day Blues’. ‘Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit’ is everything I had hoped for after ‘The Double EP’ ushering in an interesting new talent and proving that first release wasn’t a fluke.

cb

This entry was posted in Music, music review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

