Lykki Li – I Never Learn

Swedish singer-songwriter Lykke Li returns with her new album ‘I Never Learn’ the final in the trilogy that started with ‘Youth Novels’ and ‘Wounded Rhymes’. With the exception of ‘Love Me Like I’m Not Made Of Stone’ (more on that later) each song on this short 35 minute record is a crescendo of heartbreak and heady mix of bombastic drums, choirs and breakdowns and each one is glorious. The album kicks off with the title track before hitting ‘No Rest for the Wicked’ a kind of centre piece of the album despite its early inclusion. Lykke’s vocal range is in full force on ‘Just like a Dream’ and ‘Silver line’ rising and falling along with the music from whispered tones to swelling climaxes. But the one track that stands out above all other for me is the afore mentioned ‘Love Me Like I’m Not Made Of Stone’ almost a demo the track its stripped bare to just voice, guitar and tape hiss and is impressively better for it as the rawness of the lyrics hold their own ‘Even though it hurts, even though it scars, Love me when it storms, love me when I fall, Every time it breaks, every time its torn, Love me like I’m not made of stone’ every syllable seems to contain all the hurt, shame, sadness, guilt and longing of falling out of love and its chilling, a brutally honest confession sat proud among its more mature siblings. As ‘Sleeping Alone’ closed the album my first thoughts were to listen again straight away my second was what Li must have gone through to be able write these confessions and although it sounds wrong to say it I’m glad she did because what has come out of it is a record that for Li may just be her ‘Blood on the Tracks’.

lykki li

This entry was posted in music review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

