Cloud Atlas

Cloud Atlas is an amazing but complex book which is why when I heard it was being made into a film I began to worry. I then found out it had three directors, the Wachowski brother and sister (Matrix) and Tom Tykwer (Run Lola Run) I then saw the trailer and yet more alarm bells started to ring. So where do I start to tell you how bad this film is? I could start with the nearly three hour run time or the terrible effects and prosthetics or I could simple point you in the direction of the awful acting including stilted performances and terrible accents. I could mention the muddled direction which could be a case of ‘too many cooks’ or just that the vast story which has multiple threads interweaving over the past, present and future is too broad to be contained in film format. Whatever the reasons this film not only outstayed its welcome but got me asking why anyone thought it was a good idea to make it in the first place, taking a great piece of modern fiction and churning it in to a well below par and frankly embarrassing adaptation. Read the book, avoid the film.

cloud_atlas_ver2

This entry was posted in film review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

