There are two things the Eels do very well, scuzzy pop punk and plinky plonky melodic lo-fi and on this their 10th studio album both are present in full affect. From album opener ‘Bombs Away’ with its ‘I’m so sick of being a mouse’ call to arms you quickly realise the Eels have lost none of their bite. There are a few slower tunes like the brilliant ‘On the Ropes’ but it’s when the band let their hair down on tracks like ‘Kinda Fuzzy’, ‘Peach Blossom’  and the single ‘New Alphabet’ that you find yourself tapping along to the funky Jon Spencer style blues fuzz. Lyrically E is in playful form and proves he has the ability to be heartfelt while also showcasing a dry sense of humour.  At thirteen tracks (twenty six if you get the deluxe edition) there are a couple of fillers but on the whole this is another great Eels record, naturally progressive and a perfect addition to any fans collection.


This entry was posted in music review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s