Lana Del Rey – Born To Die

Everything from the name, to the look, to the songs screams ‘Manufactured’. The lyrics are littered with references from James Dean to Bacardi chasers, bugatti Veyron to Bambi eyes, implied sex and sleazy wordplay. But whoever is doing the manufacturing be it Lana herself or a shadowy A&R figure it kind of works in parts for the same reason Tarantino uses Nancy Sinatra songs on his film soundtracks, its sexy, cheesy, eerie and catchy all at the same time. I must confess I didn’t hear ‘Video Games’ last year (I’m not sure how I missed it?) and it wasn’t until it started to hit peoples end of year lists that I gave it a play and I have to say I was a little underwhelmed, I just couldn’t see what all the fuss was about. Thankfully in my opinion it is one of the weaker tracks here. Synths and strings dominate as Del Ray becomes a sultry mix of Marianne Faithful and Lou Rhodes, sadly towards the end it all gets a bit ‘Frozen’ era Madonna with the delivery becoming very samey but up to that point there are some cracking little tunes.  Reminiscent of Moloko, Ruby and even at points Depeche Mode, it bubbles with a filthy innocence that just kept me going back for more listens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lana Del Rey – Born To Die

  1. Pingback: Born to Die | Bill Chance

  2. I completely agree with your opinion on Video Games.

Leave a Reply

