Untitled

Neon crosses on dirty walls

The good book scuffed the pages torn

The empty words fall on deaf ears

The congregation bruised and scared

 

Thieves get richer and saints get shot

Martyrdom won’t make this stop

People get up off your knees

And never bite the hand that needs

 

The cage you built around your heart

Won’t help you through the world at large

Shattered dreams not broken bones

Are what you feel when you’re alone

 

I keep myself to my cell

The prison I built around my heart

And I guess it suits me well

Well it has done from the start

And until it breaks

My heart is safe

This entry was posted in poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

