I keep thinking that I see you

I keep thinking that I see you

Like a ghost in everyone

A trace of you in unfamiliar faces

Means there is still a part in me

I shiver with each sighting

From the corner of my eye

A trick being played upon me

By being tired and my mind

I never wish to see you

After all the things we’ve done

I can’t help but feel you waiting

To catch me when I’m down

The day I don’t need to see you

There in front of me you’ll stand

And I will curse the heavens

For the scars across my heart

Unaware you’ll catch me

And I can’t catch my breath

The knots inside my stomach

When I’m not sure how to feel

A little of this every time

I think I see your face

The things that people told me

The uneasy way you went

I don’t want the history

I don’t even want the now

And I’m scared of the future

Because I don’t know what it is

I keep thinking that I see you

But you are never there

It’s my own personal prison

That I created when you left
This entry was posted in poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

